New Year, New Recipes to Try

Howdy!  So much has been going on these past few weeks!  We’re still in the process of getting our house organized.  Aren’t there unpacking fairies that just put everything away for you and everything is magically organized?!  Well, there should be.  I’ve also been trying to get through all of the pictures I took while my family was in Colorado for Christmas.  I haven’t gotten very far.  However, I did do a little bit of work on this one:

Family Photo

My whole family.  Dad, mom, brother, brother’s girlfriend, grandparents (mom’s side), me, my niece, and my hubby.

Anywho, I haven’t really been experimenting with any new recipes, but I thought I’d come and share some of my favorite recipes I’ve found on Pinterest.  I’m somewhat addicted in case you didn’t know.  First step is admitting it, right?!  Hey, my husband can’t really complain because I’ve found some AMAZING recipes that he’s gotten to eat.

Chicken Fried Steak

Six Sisters’ Stuff Chicken Fried Steak.  If you have never checked out their site, you are missing out!  Six sisters that all post and their recipes are normally pretty simple and absolutely delicious!  This was another that did not disappoint!  Since both the hubby and I grew up in Texas, where chicken fried steak is pretty much its own food group, I’m thrilled to have found a good recipe!

Outback Steak House Crockpot Baked Potato Soup

Pearls, Handcuffs, and Happy Hour’s Crock Pot Potato Soup.  I love Crock Pot meals anyway because they are so easy but this one is sooooo good!  And perfect for a cold winter’s day!  Sometimes we get the little chunks of potatoes instead of the hash browns but it’s good either way.  And I obviously don’t use the actual onion, but just throw some onion powder in instead.

Sour cream noodle bake

Pioneer Woman’s Sour Cream Noodle Bake.  I don’t think I’ve made a single thing of hers I didn’t like.  If you don’t know who the Pioneer Woman is, please, PLEASE go explore her website!  She’s also got a show on Food Network.  And she’s got several cookbooks.  The most recent of which I got signed (eeeee!!!) and made my entire Christmas dinner from.  Everyone was impressed!  Anywho, check out the recipe, it’s delicious.  I use ricotta instead of cottage cheese because I’m weird and just can’t bring myself to touch cottage cheese with a 10 foot pole.  I also leave out the green onions.  The good thing about this recipe is that you can do most of the prep work at the same time… brown the meat, cook the noodles and mix up the cheese/sour cream mixture all at the same time.  I really like this because it satisfies my spaghetti/lasagna craving but isn’t too “tomato-y” for the hubby.

BBQ Pot Roast over Cheddar Ranch Grits

Plain Chicken’s BBQ Pot Roast with Cheddar Ranch Grits.  Oh. My. Goodness.  SO stinkin’ good and again, one of those Crock Pot recipes I just love!  I haven’t made a ton of Plain Chicken’s recipes but the ones I have do not disappoint.  You make your own BBQ sauce for the recipe, which the hubby and I like to do anyway.  The roast just falls apart and oh man, it is so good.  The recipe as-is makes a LOT of food, so we halved it, but then were kind of bummed we didn’t have leftovers.

Maple Chicken & Waffles Casserole

Sunny Anderson’s Maple Chicken and Waffles Casserole.  Now this is a Sunday/I-have-all-day-to-cook kind of meal.  It is NOT quick but it is SOOOO worth the effort!  I cheated and used a waffle mix instead of mixing up my own and it still took forever.  But yeah, absolutely amazingly delicious.  I also never use rotisserie chickens, I always just poach chicken breasts, so that takes longer.

Check out these recipes, check out my Pinterest boards and I’ll be back up and running posting as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

