Maple Bacon French Toast

I’ve been in a bit of a rut while my husband’s been gone.  Almost every Sunday morning I get up (late) and make myself french toast.   Well, this Sunday, I did a bad thing.

Oh, who am I kidding?  I did a wonderful thing.  I cooked maple syrup and bacon right into my french toast.  Now I’m not even that big of a “bacon” person but for some reason today this sounded good… and it was!

My husband is going to LOVE this.  In fact, he’s probably going to be a little upset that I made it for the first time when he wasn’t home.  It’s okay, honey, it’s just a nice surprise for when you get back!

Maple Bacon French Toast

Maple Bacon French Toast

Ingredients:

Maple Bacon French Toast: Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp crumbled bacon (you could absolutely use regular bacon, we just have these which made it MUCH easier!)
  • 2 slices bread
  • additional maple syrup

*This is for a single serving only so please double, triple, quadruple or more based on how much you need.

Directions:

  1. Crack your egg into a bowl and add the milk, maple syrup and bacon. Maple Bacon French Toast: Add ingredients into bowl
  2. Whisk together with a fork (or small whisk). Maple Bacon French Toast: Mixed ingredients
  3. Dunk your bread (both sides) into the mixture and put into a pan over medium heat.  (I used my fork to add a little extra bacon on top of the first slice, then scraped all the extra bacon from the bowl on top of the second slice.) DSC_0008
  4. Cook until lightly browned (depending on how you and your family like your french toast). Maple Bacon French Toast
  5. Slather with extra maple syrup and enjoy!

Maple Bacon French Toast

Leave a Reply

