Almond Joy Cupcakes

Interesting thing about these cupcakes: I won’t eat them.  I don’t like coconut, and therefore, don’t like Almond Joy bars.  However, my coworker requested that I make an Almond Joy cake for her anniversary (pictured below).  Since it was just for her and her hubby, I had some batter left over that I decided to play with.   Plus I bought myself a cupcake corer a few weeks ago that I’ve been dying to play with.

Almond Joy Cake

I used this recipe for the cake, then just finished it a little differently for the cupcakes, using a chocolate sour cream frosting instead of the melted chocolate drizzled over the top.  Also, I switch out sour cream for the oil in the cake.  I think it makes the cake more moist and slightly healthier but doesn’t change the flavor.

Almond Joy and Raspberry-filled Chocolate Cupcakes

Anywho, here’s how I did it:

Almond Joy Cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Devil’s Food cake mix plus ingredients called for on box (*as mentioned above, I use sour cream instead of the oil)
  • 7oz bag sweetened coconut flakes
  • 14oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2oz bag sliced almonds (or more if you want more of a garnish)
  • 12oz bag semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1.5 cups (3 sticks) unsalted butter (room temperature)
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup sour cream
  • pinch kosher salt

Directions:

  1. Bake cupcakes as directed on box and let cool.
  2. Mix sweetened condensed milk and coconut flakes together in a mixing bowl.
  3. Use cupcake corer (or knife) to cut a hole out of the center of your cupcake. Cored Cupcakes
  4. Use cupcake corer (or spoon) to fill the hole with coconut mixture.  Leave a little bit of space at the top.
  5. Add a few almonds on top of the coconut mixture. Filled Almond Joy Cupcakes
  6. Melt chocolate chips in microwave or double broiler and let sit for 10-15 minutes. (I let it sit just long enough for me to get the rest of the frosting mixed.)
  7. Cream butter until smooth.
  8. Gradually add powdered sugar to butter.
  9. Add sour cream, salt and melted chocolate to butter/sugar mixture and mix until smooth.
  10. Frost cupcakes, adding additional almonds on top if desired.

While I didn’t try the cake or cupcakes, I was told they were quite good.

I also played around with a couple of the cupcakes and made a Raspberry-Filled Chocolate Cupcake.  I did the same as above except rather than filling the cupcake with the coconut mixture, I spooned in some raspberry preserves, placed a fresh raspberry in the cupcake, then topped it off with some more raspberry preserves until the cupcake was completely filled.  Frosted with the same chocolate sour cream frosting and garnished with a fresh raspberry.

Raspberry preserves in cupcakes Raspberry in cupcake

Now this, I did try, and thought it was delicious!  It’s a nice little surprise to bite into the cupcake and taste a fresh raspberry.  It would probably also be good if you just made your own raspberry puree.  That’s a project for another day…

Leave a Reply

