Easy Chicken & Dumplings

I grew up in Texas and yet I had never had chicken and dumplings (blasphemy, I know!).  Several years ago, I began my slight obsession with watching Rachael Ray’s daytime tv show.  One day she had Jessica Simpson on and I seriously considered turning it off after her whole “Chicken of the Sea” fiasco.  However, she had a GREAT chicken and dumplings recipe that my husband and I just love.   It’s really easy and made with ingredients that I generally have in the kitchen anyway so it’s a great go-to when I don’t know what else to cook.

Easy Chicken & Dumplings

This is by no means a “traditional” chicken and dumplings recipe, but I think it’s pretty awesome.  It’s something that you can get on the table in about 40-45 minutes if you use rotisserie chicken. 

Easy Chicken & Dumplings

(adapted from Jessica Simpson’s recipe on the Rachael Ray Show which can be found here)

Ingredients:

  • Part of 1 rotisserie chicken or ~1 lb of poached chicken, shredded
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can cream of broccoli soup (you can use whatever “cream of” soup you’d like here, the original recipe calls for cream of mushroom, but my hubby isn’t a fan of mushrooms so we started using broccoli.  I’m sure cream of celery would be good too if you wanted to use that)
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2-3 cans crescent rolls
  • salt and pepper.. and sometimes I add garlic powder too

Directions:

1. Poach and shred your chicken or pull apart your rotisserie chicken.

2. Season your chicken with salt and pepper if you poached your chicken.  A rotisserie chicken should have plenty of flavor already.

3. Roll out 2 cans of crescent rolls and separate into triangles.  Stick some chicken in each triangle and roll up just like you would a normal crescent roll.

IMG_20121204_184507_436

NOTE: when I make this for just me and my husband, I only use a can and a half of crescent rolls (12 triangles)  rather than all 16.  The other 4 triangles I use across the top.  If I’m making it for more people, I’ll use 2 full cans of crescent rolls for the dumplings and the 3rd for the topping.

4. Place your rolls in a 9×13 pan.  It doesn’t really need to be greased, but if it makes you feel better, please, by all means, grease away.

IMG_20121204_184535_249

5. Mix together your soups and chicken broth in a separate bowl.  Pour over the top of your dumplings.

IMG_20121204_183637_734

IMG_20121204_185136_689

6. Cut the remaining crescent rolls into strips and lay over the top of the dumplings in a sort of basket-weave pattern.

IMG_20121204_185056_400

IMG_20121204_185219_783

7. Bake at 400° for 30 minutes.

I’ve never tried doing this as a “make ahead” but I bet it would do well.  The only thing that would make me nervous is the crescent rolls getting soggy. One thing I will tell you is that is reheats well.  We always have extra and take it for lunch the next day and it is delicious.

This is a meal that has such simple ingredients, I can always have them on hand.  It’s also one that’s so easy, I don’t mind doing it after a long day at work.  I always poach my chicken so I’ll set that to cook, go do something else, come back, put the dish together, stick in the oven, then have another half hour to do something else before it’s done.

This is a meal I make all the time for the hubby and I.  Depending on how many people you are trying to feed, you might want to consider doubling this recipe.

I hope you enjoy this meal as much as my hubby and I do!

UPDATE 2.12.14

After several comments saying that the crescent rolls wouldn’t cook through, I wanted to try to remedy that.  I made this again for dinner tonight and tried something a bit different.  After putting the chicken in the rolls and putting the crescent rolls in the pan, I put it in the oven for 10 minutes.  The crescent rolls were not fully cooked when I pulled them out, but were puffed up and starting to barely brown on some of the edges (see the one on top, third from the left):

Update to Chicken & Dumplings

After the 10 minutes in the oven, I poured the soup mixture on top, laid the extra crescent rolls on top and put it back in for 20 minutes.  The crescent rolls were definitely more cooked through and I think they are just going to stay a little squishy because of all the liquid you put in.  The bottoms of the crescent rolls were starting to get darker brown.  I would worry that if you cooked it for too much longer without the liquid, the bottoms would burn.  Hopefully this helps out some of the issues people were having!

 

29 thoughts on “Easy Chicken & Dumplings

  1. Pingback: Chicken ‘n Something Casserole | milk duds and sweet tea

  2. this looks so good, and it tastes wonderful! I did cream of broccoli and celery soup. I used the big crescent rolls and 30 minutes wasn’t long enough to cook the dough in the middle, so I’ll remember to get the regular ones next time.

  3. These looked so good and so easy but I don’t know what i did wrong bc an hr later, they still weren’t cooked through.

    • Alright, I made this again and cooked just the crescent rolls with the chicken in them for 10 minutes, then poured on the liquid and did the extra crescent rolls on top. The crescent rolls were much more cooked through. The tops of them were still a little squishy, but I think that’s just from all of the liquid you put in. Hopefully this will help next time!

  4. It would’ve been sooooo good, but my dough did not cook through either! Next time I will lightly cook the chicken stuffed rolls first, then add the sauce and finish cooking! Also, I had added shredded carrots and baby peas and it was a nice touch to have the added veggies!

    • That’s a good idea… I’m making this again tonight for dinner so I think I might play around with temps and times to see if I can get it to cook a little more thoroughly. I’ll update if I have a good solution.

    • I tried your suggestion and cooked just the crescent rolls with the chicken in them for 10 minutes, then poured on the liquid and did the extra crescent rolls on top. The crescent rolls were much more cooked through. The tops of them were still a little squishy, but I think that’s just from all of the liquid you put in. Hopefully this will help next time!

  5. I made this last night and it turned out great! I added peas, a can of mushrooms, and some shredded carrots to sneak in some extra veggies. My dish took about 45 mins in the oven.

    • I’m so glad it worked out well for you! I’ll definitely add in other veggies when I have kids and I’m more worried about their nutrition but for now, my hubby is such a picky eater, it’s easier to just do without.

  6. I made this for dinner tonight, but the dough did not cook for mine, either. The top basket-weave top crust was perfectly brown, but every roll in the pan was doughy and uncooked. I used the regular size crescent rolls, so I am not sure what the problem was. So disappointed!!!

    • Alright, I made this again and cooked just the crescent rolls with the chicken in them for 10 minutes, then poured on the liquid and did the extra crescent rolls on top. The crescent rolls were much more cooked through. The tops of them were still a little squishy, but I think that’s just from all of the liquid you put in. Hopefully this will help next time!

  7. I made these last night and it was awesome. I used hald cream of chicken and half cream of brocolli. I added smoked ham pieces, mixed veggies, onions and chopped garlic. I sauteed the chicken lightly in bacon grease before I mixed everything together. The 10 minute pre-bake is a must to make sure the rolls are cooked thru. My (very picky) 12 year old son swore that his food was delivered straight from heaven…lol. He said this was his new favorite food..even after I realized that when he asked for dumplings he mean Chinese dumplings..woopsie!

  8. Trying this tonight! I don’t remember how I found your page, but I’m very glad I did. 🙂 I think I’ll add some mushrooms sauteed in garlic. It should work nicely with the rotisserie chicken I picked up this afternoon.

  9. we use the mini sized can biscuits, flatten them out with the heel of your hand, then put a pinch of chicken and a pinch of mozzarella cheese in the middle, then bring the sides up and pinch together. Turn them over and line up in the pan with the pinched side down. Cover with 1 can of co chicken and 1 can of co mushroom, sprinkle with any leftover cheese and bake. They are never soggy with the pinch side down and thinned out mini biscuits so you may want to try it. It is one of my husband’s favorite meals!
    PS: I have always called this a casserole, not chicken and dumplings. It is delicious, don’t get me wrong, but it does not taste the same as actual chicken and dumplings so you owe to your taste buds to try the real deal as well 🙂

  10. Instead of using the soups, I made my own sauce. 1/2 stick butter, 1&1/2 cup broth off baked chicken breasts, 5 tabs flour, 1 cup milk and 1 cup shredded cheese. I wanted less sodium. I baked 6 chicken breast cutlets for 25 minutes and shredded. I drained the liquid into butter and flour prior to shredding. I had no trouble with the dough being underdone. Maybe my sauce was less liquid.

Leave a Reply

