Easy Peanut Butter Dog Treats

I love my dogs.  This is not an unknown fact about me.  I also like to spoil them.  But who doesn’t?!

Tomorrow is “Take Your Dog To Work Day”.  No really, I didn’t just make it up so I could take my little munchkin to work with me.  There’s a website and everything: www.takeyourdog.com.  Having a website makes everything official, doesn’t it?!

Anywho, I decided I wanted to make treats for my dogs with a recipe I had found on Pinterest and what better time to try them out then when I can have lots of other guinea pigs?

I started out with this simple 2-ingredient recipe made with baby food and whole wheat flour.   I used sweet potato and chicken baby food and from the way the dogs gobbled their tasters up, they must have enjoyed them.  I did all these cutesy with some bone and fire hydrant (not a Christmas tree like my husband thought) cookie cutters I found at Crate and Barrel a while back.

I decided I wanted to make some peanut butter ones since, let’s be honest, what dog doesn’t love peanut butter?  And honestly, if you can make treats with some baby food and flour, it couldn’t be all that difficult.  Here’s what I came up with:

Super Easy 3-Ingredient Peanut Butter Dog Treats

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 cup apple sauce
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour

Directions:

1. Mix everything together.

2. Roll out to approximately 1/2″ thickness and cut with cookie cutters (I did this with sweet potato and chicken ones) or create 1″ balls and smash with the heel of your hand (I did this with the peanut butter ones).  I also made 1/2″ balls for some smaller treats for my little munchkin and for a co-worker who I know is bringing her chihuahua tomorrow.

3. Bake at 350ºF for 20 minutes.

Rough, huh?

And believe me, my dogs REALLY loved these!  They even smelled good to me and the hubby.

This made 22 treats, including 7 of the smaller ones.  I had some dough left over but I just gave that to the dogs without actually making it into treats.  This could easily make 2 dozen treats.

They are a little soft when they come out of the oven, but as they cool, they harden up a bit.

I’m looking forward to experimenting more with the treats and I’ll definitely share if my babies like them!

Hope you enjoy!

**UPDATE**  So I wanted to share my coworkers’ dogs’ reaction to the peanut butter treats: they LOVED them!  The ones made with baby food went over pretty well but the peanut butter ones went over great.  Definitely making these a lot from now on!

Leave a Reply

