Simple Skirts (And a Dress)

I get to go back to Texas for my niece’s birthday this year, hooray!   As soon as I bought my plane ticket, I started trying to figure out what to get her.  I wanted to make something because (a) I like the idea of a more personal gift and (b) I knew it would end up being cheaper and money isn’t exactly growing on trees around here.  I remembered my mom telling me that she loved skirts and I knew I had seen some cute (and easy) patterns on Pinterest, so of course, I spent an entire night looking to see what I could find.

Well, I came across this post by “Made” for a simple skirt tutorial.  Man, she wasn’t kidding, this was so easy!  It literally consists of sewing together the sides, adding a hem and a waistband and putting in elastic.  This was WONDERFULLY easy!!  I made a skirt for my niece like this:

I added a little pocket on the back for a little flair.

And a skirt for me:

See my little helpers there?  Aren’t they adorable?

One of them really wanted some attention from Daddy while he was trying to take a picture!  Okay, here’s a better picture:

My camera man couldn’t seem to get a clear picture, but you get the point.

But seriously, if you are looking for a quick and easy sewing project, I definitely recommend checking out her tutorial.  I will be making LOTS of these skirts in the future and you better believe EVERYONE is getting one for birthdays, Christmas, etc.  Well, I guess not the guys.  As much as my husband likes my skirt, I don’t think he’d enjoy one of his own.

Anywho, I also made this little princess dress for my niece:

Isn’t that adorable?!  They sell the fabric like that at Joann’s so that literally all you have to do is sew up the side, even the hem is finished for you.  I added little ribbon straps too (the straps aren’t crooked, I just can’t tie straight bows to save my life).  She is only 3 after all and no one needs a 3-year-old flashing people because her dress won’t stay up.  The fabric comes in adult prints and sizes too (longer of the stretchy stuff at the top) which I will DEFINITELY be going back to purchase at some point!  I never knew this even existed so I thought I’d share in case others were unaware, too.

Have you done any easy-peasy sewing projects lately?

One thought on “Simple Skirts (And a Dress)

Leave a Reply

