Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Six

Okay, so this week rocked.  Did my first trail run in my Vibrams and it was so much better than I had imagined: I had my first 2 days with no 5 minute warm up walk and each day increased by 2 minutes, so I was a little concerned.  I also used my walking time Wednesday and Friday to take some pictures like this one:

The trail was incredibly rocky in places and then just more dirt in some. I liked the challenge, it was almost a bit of an obstacle course trying to dodge the larger rocks.

(Okay,  that one’s pretty boring, but I promise there are some more exciting, or at least prettier, pictures further down.)

Week 6 is this:

Monday: walk 5 minutes, jog 11 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Tuesday: rest.

Wednesday: jog 13 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Thursday: rest.

Friday: jog 15 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Saturday & Sunday: rest.

Monday was really Tuesday and it was awesome.  I ran on the treadmill because it’s been really windy and as I’ve mentioned before, I hate running in the wind.  Plus, on Tuesday there was a moderate ozone watch and since I’ve had some problems lately with my chest tightening, I figured I would be safe and run inside.  The gym wasn’t nearly as cold as last time but I decided to push myself and run a little faster than normal and it felt GREAT!  I did .5 faster than I have been (I did say a little faster) and I never felt like I needed to slow down.  I’m still not at my goal speed, but I don’t care.  I’m doing great and I know it.  I can also feel it.

Wednesday was awesome too.  I ran outside again before a rainstorm so it had cooled down, which was nice.  I was a little worried since my last run outside was pretty horrendous and it was the first day that I didn’t have the 5 minutes warm-up walk, just my walk to the trail, but it went great!  At no point did I feel like I was dying and I wasn’t even grandpa jogging at the end!  Plus I stopped (during my walking) to take some cool pictures… like this one:

Aren’t they pretty? Just growing wild by the pond.

Plus, did you know Wednesday was National Running Day?  I didn’t either until Wednesday right before my run, but woo, at least I participated.  Not that it made a difference in rather I ran or not, but still.  You can see some of the other pictures I took Wednesday here.

Friday I decided to do my first trail run in my Vibrams.  I fully expected it to be absolutely awful but instead it was absolutely fabulous.  The last 4 minutes were uphill and man were they tough but I loved running on the trail.  Watching out for rocks, looking at the flowers and just taking in the scenery makes you think much less about how tired/hot/exhausted you are.  I highly recommend it.  Running around the pond behind my apartments is nice, but this is awesome.  Especially living in Colorado, I got a great view of the mountains, tons of wildflowers and one of my favorite things: wind turbines.

Yes, I have an odd obsession with them.  I just think that they are incredible.  I’ve already talked the hubby into putting a small one in our yard when we have a house… assuming it’s allowed and we can afford to do so.

Off track again.  Sorry… back to running.

The multi-use trail I did was much more of a bike trail than a running trail, very narrow and there were parts where there were huge ruts so I was running with both ankles turned in.  I’m actually amazed I didn’t twist an ankle.  There’s another trail that goes the other direction that looks more like an old dirt road than a trail, but I think it may be a bit more ankle-friendly.  I’m going to try that one out next time.  Anywho, I wanted to share some of the pictures I took along the way:

Not a bad view. The part of the trail you can kinda sorta make out is part that I ran up (just above the cloud shadow). It doesn’t look like much but when it’s the last part of your run, it sure feels like your running on like a 20% incline.

Pretty yellow… although it looks like some bugs may have gotten to the poor lil guy.

This kind of reminds me of the buttercups we have in Texas, except white instead of pink.

Some of the dandelions here are HUGE… like mutant huge. Included the white flower for reference.

I know its a weed but I still think its pretty.

Tiny little orange flowers. There were a ton of these cute little guys.

Prickly pear flower… I love seeing these up here. Like a little piece of Texas.

Everything else is kind of like scrub brush/prairie-ish except these 2 guys. I wonder if they get made fun of by their friends. Like tall girls in elementary school. Yes, I do animate inanimate objects. What of it?

A couple of my favorite things: wind turbines and mountains.

Don’t know what this guy is but he’s got some pretty cool looking flowers. (Not sure why this picture won’t save rotated by just tilt your head to the left and you get the point 😉 )

Running in my Vibrams was much different than I expected.  You feel much less of the rockiness than you do when you are walking.  It’s actually easier running in them partially because of how light they are.  The website says 4.8 oz each.  Not bad.  My Nike running shoes are light, but not that light.

My hubby got Vibrams as soon as they started gaining popularity because he loves the idea of being able to really feel the ground beneath your feet.  He’d hike barefoot if he could.  I was a little slower to catch on to the trend (plus I was waiting until I could get mine on sale), but now that I’ve run in them, I love them.  They aren’t for everyone because there is pretty much zero ankle support, so that’s something that should be taken into account.  Check them out though.

One thing I will caution you on though, even the TrekSports that I have with the more grippy bottom gets slick on wet rock.  If you’re running on dirt and little pebbles, it won’t be an issue, but if you’ll ever be running on wet rocks, I’d be cautious.  There are all different kinds too.  There are some that have pretty much smooth bottoms for just regular concrete running.

Now that my legs are getting in shape, I need to start working on the rest of me: mainly my arms and stomach.  Neither of which are really a huge concern for me but I’m really getting in to this working out thing so I might as well work the whole body rather than just my legs.  This is the workout I found: http://blogilates.com/printables-2/9329587709.  Something you can do in your living room with just your body and 3-5lb weights.  It’s called RIP for arms and abs with RIP standing for Rest In Plank.  You stay in a plank position throughout the entire workout.  Sounds easy enough… ish.  (There are beginners directions that you can do your plank on your knees/elbows if necessary.)  Here’s the graphic that explains it:

Definitely go check out their site though: there are tons of other great work out plans, recipes and even meal plans.

On a side note: I tried on some shorts Monday night that I’ve had since high school… and haven’t really worn since high school… and although they were still tight and REALLY short (so I’ll probably never actually wear them out in public), they fit and they looked a heck of a lot better than they have in years!  I’m so pumped!  I love summer but I’ve always been self conscious about how my legs looked in shorts.  Not a worry any more for me.  That’s the kind of stuff that keeps me going.  I feel better.  I look better.  Why wouldn’t I want to keep this up?!

Another question for you guys, too: my allergies hit me HARD about 10 minutes after I get inside from a run, whether in my car or in the apartment.  Any suggestions on how to help?  I’ve considered taking a Benadryl or some other allergy something right before my run but I don’t know, that just seems wrong.  My drive home Friday was interesting.  I almost had to pull over because I was sneezing so much.  Any suggestions?

Hope everyone else had as great of a week as I did!

In case you missed my previous posts:

My Personal Challenge: Survivor Mud Run

Couch To Survivor Mud Run: Week One

Couch To Survivor Mud Run: Week Two

Couch To Survivor Mud Run: Week Three

Couch To Survivor Mud Run: Week Four

Couch To Survivor Mud Run: Week Five

One thought on “Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Six

  1. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Seven… sort of | theblondelawyer

Leave a Reply

