How Many Initials Do You Have?

Maybe I’ll just be one of those people who has a ridiculous amount of initials after their name.  Even though I can’t quite add “Esq.” yet, I’m still a JD, I’ll always be SAS Jr. to my dad (we have [had before I got married] the same initials so he was Sr. and I was Jr.), I could go back and finish my MBA but for now, I get to add two more pretty soon: EA.  (And hopefully in October, I’ll get to add Esq. as well!)  I finally passed my last exam to become an Enrolled Agent!  

I still have to apply through the IRS and they’ll make sure I’ve had good tax compliance then I’ll be official!

What’s an enrolled agent you ask?  Well, it’s someone who is “enrolled” to practice in front of the IRS.  AKA, I get a promotion at work.. woohoo!  According to the IRS website, “An enrolled agent is a person who has earned the privilege of representing taxpayers before the Internal Revenue Service by either passing a three-part comprehensive IRS test covering individual and business tax returns, or through experience as a former IRS employee. Enrolled agent status is the highest credential the IRS awards.”

To become an EA, you have to take 3 exams: one on individuals, one on businesses and one on just representation and ethics and what not.  Ask any EA and they’ll definitely tell you that the business test is the beast.  I’ll admit, I had to take it 3 times.  The first time, I failed by 7 points (I think, it was in Feb.), the second time 1 (yeah, I was not very happy about that) and when you pass, that’s all they tell you, that you passed, not how much you passed by.  But honestly, WHO CARES?!  I PASSED!

IRS Revenue Officers (who we deal with mainly at my job) are only supposed to talk to attorneys, CPAs or enrolled agents (although there are a few that will talk to you no matter what).  As soon as I’m official, I’ll get to have all my own cases and eventually my own assistant(s) too!

This is my first “big girl job” promotion and it’s a pretty amazing feeling.

I took my last test yesterday afternoon and got my results immediately so we did what any good Texans would do: celebrated with Mexican food.

Yes, that is indeed a pitcher. We were CELEBRATING!

Hope everyone else had a great week!  Happy Memorial Day (/Three-Day Weekend)!!

One thought on “How Many Initials Do You Have?

  1. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Four and a Half | theblondelawyer

Leave a Reply

