Easy BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

I was inspired by the Pioneer Woman for this meal… BBQ Chicken Sandwiches.  I started out with the intention of doing it the way she shows here, but then I decided I could make it a bit easier and probably just as tasty.  First of all, she used a whole chicken, but I figured it would be easier to use chicken breast (plus I already had them and a whole chicken I would have to go buy).  Also, she browned the chicken on both sides before putting it in the BBQ sauce to cook.  I decided that step could probably be skipped altogether since the chicken was going to be shredded anyway.  She also added onion and garlic, another step I left out, figuring that the BBQ sauce had enough flavor on its own, and I was right.

I essentially just poached the chicken in BBQ sauce so it absorbed all that great flavor as it cooked.  This would be a great make ahead meal or something you can just set to cook while you do other things on a busy evening.  It’ll definitely be something I make a LOT in the future!

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches

Printable Recipe

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts (1 per person)
  • 1 bottle of BBQ sauce
  • 1 package of coleslaw with dressing
  • pickles
  • hamburger buns or some nice big rolls

Directions

1. Put chicken into a pot (I used a regular 2 qt pot, nothing big or fancy) and pour BBQ sauce to just cover the chicken (I used about 3/4 of a bottle).

2. Cook, covered, on medium-low heat for 40-60 minutes depending on how big your pieces of chicken are (I ended up cooking mine for about an hour only because I wasn’t really paying much attention, I was doing a million other things at the same time, and it was not overcooked, just very, very tender which made it super easy to shred).

3. While chicken is cooking, prepare coleslaw.  (Yes, you could make your own, but I’m lazy and don’t want to shred/thinly slice cabbage.)

4. Pull chicken out and shred using two forks.

5. Put chicken back into pot and mix shredded chicken with the BBQ sauce.  After you mix everything together, you could serve it right away, however, I let mine simmer a little longer (about 10 minutes) just to make sure all my shredded pieces really soaked up the BBQ sauce.

6. Load up your sandwich with chicken, coleslaw and pickles.

It’s almost to pretty to eat… almost.

We did ours on regular bread and yet I have above to use hamburger buns or big rolls.  While the regular bread tasted great, it did not hold up well against the BBQ sauce-soaked chicken.  The hubby ended up eating his entire sandwich with a fork and I ended up with BBQ sauce ALL over my hands.  This sandwich definitely needs something a little sturdier than just a regular ol’ piece of bread.

I made this with Oven-Roasted Corn with a Chili Lime butter which was DELICIOUS!  You can find that recipe here.  The hubby loves to roast corn on the grill and I think this turned out just as good.

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

