Berry Cobbler

My husband and I LOVE cobbler.  I’ve tried several recipes over the years but the hubby always talked about how great his grandmother’s cobbler was.  Today I told him I was going to make cobbler (blackberries were on sale, woohoo!) and he told me to wait until he could call his mom so that he could get his grandmother’s recipe for me.  Well, lucky me, her recipe was SUPER easy and turned out SOOOOOO GOOD!!

BERRY COBBLER

Printable Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 egg
  • 1 stick melted butter
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 4 containers berries (all blackberries or a mixture of raspberries and blackberries is what we did this time)
  • cinnamon sugar (3 parts sugar to 1 part cinnamon or you can eyeball it and taste-test like I do)

Directions

1. Combine egg, melted butter, flour and sugar.

2. Put berries into the bottom of a greased dish (I use a 2 qt round dish but you could use a 9×9 pan).

3. Drop dough on top of berries and spread around so it covers most of the berries.

4. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar over the top of the dough.  We use lots

5. Bake at 350°F for 60 minutes.

6. Let cool for a few minutes then add vanilla ice cream when it’s still warm… always add vanilla ice cream.

It’s that easy!

Now, the dough is more of a thicker, cookie dough consistency rather than a thinner, cake-like batter, so if you like more of a “cakey” cobbler, this may not be for you but give it a fair try because it is delicious.

My mother in law only uses half a cup of sugar (and therefore probably not nearly as much cinnamon sugar topping) because she thinks it’s too sweet with the full cup of sugar.  Pfft… too much sugar.  No such thing exists in this household.  But I did want to mention it because I’m sure there are others who may want to do it with a little less sugar and I wanted to let you know that it does work.

I’ll definitely have to do peach later in the summer.

What’s your favorite kind of cobbler?

One thought on “Berry Cobbler

Leave a Reply

