Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Three

This week started out great but ended rough.  I’ve been using the loop around the little lake behind our apartments as my track for right now until I get closer to the run and start actually running on trails.  I thought the loop was about a mile so I was really excited with how far I was going… turns out it’s actually 0.63 miles.  Well crap.  Oh well, I’m still running more than I have in a long time.

Week 3 is this:

Monday: walk 5 minutes, jog 6 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Tuesday: rest.

Wednesday: jog 4 minutes, walk 5 minutes, jog 4 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Thursday: rest.

Friday: walk 5 minutes, jog 7 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Saturday & Sunday: rest.

For the first time during my Monday jog I actually stopped only because I had reached my time, not because I was exhausted.  I could have easily kept going.  I checked the time to see how much time I had left and I was done!  It was so easy!!  My body is definitely adjusting nicely to this.

On a side note: while I love running outside (I rather despise treadmills), there are disadvantages.  I realized this during my Monday jog.  Of course I’m panting like crazy breathing in through my nose and out through my mouth like you’re supposed to and I looked down to check my time right as a ran into a lovely little group of flying bugs… right into my mouth.  Ick.  But it’s protein, right?!?

Wednesday was awesome, except for the fact that was the day I realized my loop was 0.63, not closer to a mile like I thought.  I was worried about the jog, walk, jog, walk since this was my first day of running twice and it would be the most combined time I had run.  However, it went REALLY well!  I did 2 full loops which was only 1.26 miles, but I tracked it and my top speed was 6.71 miles per hour, so I’m running less than a 10 minute mile, which is pretty exciting.

Friday was hard.  It was the first time my legs were actually hurting by the end of the jogging time.  However, it was also a different day for me.  I usually go alone or with my miniature dachshund, who is a pretty good little running partner.  Friday was our bloodhound’s 5th birthday so he got to go with me as a little treat.  Now, although I love him, he gets distracted easily.  I mean, he is a hound dog.  He wants to stop and smell everything, pee on things, not to mention go play in the lake.  He also can’t see another dog and just calmly walk/run by, he has to try to sniff/play with the dog.  Did I mention he weighs about 112 lbs and it takes just about all my strength to hold him back if he pulls towards another dog?  Yeah, he gives me quite a workout, however, it also slows me down and wears me out more.  It isn’t such a big deal to stop and let him sniff/pee/play in the lake when I’m walking but I had to stop for a little bit while I was jogging thanks to another dog that I knew he wouldn’t be able to ignore.  I’d rather stop and distract him with another dip in the lake rather than have him pull me over when he tries to pull towards the other dog (wouldn’t be the first time).

Although I’m only in week 3, I highly recommend a program like this to anyone who is looking to train for a run or just get in better shape.  It is much easier to slowly build up like this than just try and go run a mile or two right off the bat.  Who else is doing something like this?

Also, I like knowing exactly how far I’ve run and how fast (or slow).  If you are looking for an app to track your runs, I use “My Tracks”.  It is an app that was created by Google so I’m not sure you can get it on an iPhone but for those with Android phones, I think it’s very user-friendly and has the basic info you’d want to know: current speed, max speed, average speed, average moving speed, total distance, total time, moving time, elevation, elevation gain, minimum elevation, maximum elevation, minimum grade, maximum grade, latitude and longitude.  It also shows a map of where you’ve been and you can save your tracks so you can go back and check your progress.  This is just my personal opinion, but it does have a 4.5 rating in the Google Play Store so lots of other people like it too.

In case you missed my previous posts:

My Personal Challenge: Survivor Mud Run

Couch To Survivor Mud Run: Week One

Couch To Survivor Mud Run: Week Two

6 thoughts on “Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Three

  1. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Three and a Half | theblondelawyer

  2. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Four | theblondelawyer

  3. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Four and a Half | theblondelawyer

  4. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Five | theblondelawyer

  5. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Six | theblondelawyer

  6. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Seven… sort of | theblondelawyer

Leave a Reply

