Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Two

Week two gave me the confidence and determination I need to keep going.  I actually did 4 days this week instead of only 3 and let me tell you, I feel great!

Week 2 is supposed to be this:

Monday: walk 5 minutes, jog 3 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Tuesday: rest.

Wednesday: walk 5 minutes, jog 4 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Thursday: rest.

Friday: walk 5 minutes, jog 5 minutes, walk 5 minutes.

Saturday & Sunday: rest.

Since I still had one run from last week to make up, my schedule ended up being a little different.  I did my Monday and Wednesday runs as they were supposed to be.  Friday I walked 5 minutes, jogged 4 minutes and walked 5 minutes.  Then Sunday I walked 5 minutes, jogged 5 minutes, then walked 5 minutes.

I was a little discouraged after Monday’s run because my chest got really tight during the end of my jogging.  When I was in high school, I was told I had exercise-induced asthma, which at the time was just a good excuse to sit out during cross-country practice.  Now, I know what you’re saying “I thought you said you haven’t run since middle school”.  I haven’t really.  My cheerleading coaches in high school decided it would be a good idea for us to train with cross-country.   Due to other issues (I had back problems thanks to my lovely ladies that decided to pop out of nowhere my sophomore year in high school), I never really trained with them.

Anywho, back to my story.  I had inhalers for a few years but then just stopped even trying to run altogether and assumed something like that might be a childhood illness that went away with age.  With my chest tightening after only 3 minutes of jogging, I was very concerned that I would not be able to reach my goal.

However, I talked with one of the other girls on Tuesday and she said she had the same problem (mind you after running her 3 miles or so).  We decided it must be the pollen or something else in the air.  The fact that I’ve lived in Colorado for less than a year and I’m still adjusting to being active at such a high altitude is also probably a factor.

I decided to see how I did with Wednesday to see if I maybe needed to go slower on my training or give in and go to a doctor to get another inhaler.  I was just fine on Wednesday though.  I even jogged longer than I was supposed to!  I needed to make up last Friday’s walk 5, jog 3, walk 5, but I went ahead and jogged 4 minutes.  Go me!

Friday’s 5-4-5 wasn’t a problem and Sunday’s 5-5-5 gave me a huge boost of confidence!  I had no problems jogging for 5 minutes straight and, although I haven’t actually been keeping track of my distance, I’m pretty sure I’m under a 10 minute mile.   Whoop!!

Sunday was also the first day I haven’t felt any sort of cramp in my side.  I do however have a question for any doctors/nurses/runners that might be reading this: since Wednesday, my big toe has been hurting almost like I strained it.  By Sunday it was pretty much fine but it was a rather odd feeling.  Could it have something to do with the way I’m running or the fact that I’m using muscles that haven’t been used in years and they’re a little confused?  Any insight would be MUCH appreciated!

I’ve even started taking my little running buddy with me:

He’s enjoying the runs as much as I am.  Maybe I’ll have to find some sort of dog-friendly 5k to do with him this summer.  Or maybe I’ll enter him in some weenie races!

Next week includes the first jog-walk-jog day and I’ll admit that I’m a little nervous about it.

In case you missed my previous posts:

My Personal Challenge: Survivor Mud Run

Couch To Survivor Mud Run: Week One

8 thoughts on “Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Two

  1. Hey girl! You won the giveaway (: email me your address and I will send you your coasters! Congrats!

  2. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Three | theblondelawyer

  3. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Three and a Half | theblondelawyer

  4. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Four | theblondelawyer

  5. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Four and a Half | theblondelawyer

  6. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Five | theblondelawyer

  7. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Six | theblondelawyer

  8. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Seven… sort of | theblondelawyer

Leave a Reply

