Sausage & Bacon Breakfast Quiche

The hubby is very excited about his new job so he is starting to get up earlier each day so he can get used to going to bed at a reasonable time rather than the 2, 3, 4am that he’s gotten used to.  This morning, we were up at 7:30.  The hubby started watching a Top Gear marathon so I decided I was going to watch the Food Network.

I happened to catch Trisha Yearwood’s Trisha’s Southern Kitchen and she made this “Country Quiche”.  Well, the hubby won’t eat tomatoes and of course he was going to want bacon, so I changed the recipe a bit.  One fantastic thing about this recipe is that it’s easy and doesn’t have a ton of ingredients!

So here’s what you’ll need:

SAUSAGE & BACON BREAKFAST QUICHE

  • 2 frozen pie crusts (don’t worry about them being completed thawed, just pull them out when you start cooking the sausage and they’ll cook up nicely in the oven)
  • 1 lb ground sausage (I used spicy)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled bacon (we have the “real bacon crumbles” so I’m not sure exactly how many slices that is)
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 8 eggs
  • 2 cups cheese (I used sharp cheddar)
  • salt and pepper to taste

1. Cook up your sausage and your bacon (if you aren’t using the precooked bacon crumbles like I did).  I would cook the bacon in the oven, so it’s not as greasy and you won’t have to worry about watching 2 pans at the same time.

To cook bacon in the oven: place your bacon on a slotted pan or on a wire rack set in a cookie sheet and cook at 375° for 15-18 minutes.  Just make sure you remember to turn the oven down to 350° before you put the quiche in.

2. While your meat is cooking, mix together eggs, cheese and sour cream and season with salt and pepper.

3. Add your sausage and bacon to your eggy, cheesy, sour creamy mixture and make sure it is well combined.

4. Pour mixture into pie crusts.

5. Bake at 350°F for 30 minutes.

Printable Recipe Card

We devoured almost an entire one and froze the other for later.  Just the two of us ate nearly the entire thing by ourselves because it was so good, plus we ate at about 10:30 so it was more of a brunch than a breakfast.  I would say 1 of these could easily feed a family of 4 with each person getting a quarter of the quiche.  Depending on your family size, you probably will have leftovers.  I’ll be honest, I just made this today so I’m not sure exactly how well it reheats from either the fridge or freezer but I will update after I try it!

There are a ton of variations that you could do with this and I would love to hear what you’ve done with it!  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Sausage & Bacon Breakfast Quiche

  1. did you try freezing and then reheating?
    Wondering if I can put right in oven frozen and how long to cook it for?
    Thanks,
    Maurica

    • I didn’t… I froze it and ended up throwing it out because I never reheated it. I would assume it would probably be best to let it thaw for a bit before putting it in the oven. Maybe pull it out the day before you need it?

Leave a Reply

