My Personal Challenge: Survivor Mud Run

So I, along with some of my co-workers, have decided to do the Survivor Mud Run in July.  They do it California, Texas, Washington and (obviously) Colorado.  Check out the website here: http://survivormudrun.com/locations/locations_col.htm#.

Although my hubby and I love to go hiking, I would definitely not say I’m in the best shape.  In fact, I’m in pretty terrible shape.  So I found this wonderful “Couch to 5k” training plan on Pinterest:

Unfortunately, this was a “user uploaded” photo, so I don’t know where to give credit.  Please let me know if you know!

Week 1 starts on Monday.  I actually have about 14 weeks until the run, which is July 21st, but it’s also slightly longer than a 5k: 3.47 miles.  But let me just say, I am STOKED!  I’ve never even considered doing one of these runs with obstacle courses but it just looks awesome.  Plus it’s something to say I’ve done.

Now, let me just explain how out of shape I am.  I have never actually run a 5k, or any sort of race at all since I was in middle school.  I love doing the Race for the Cure 5k with my mom, but we always walk.  It has been about 12 years since I’ve run a race.  The thought of running generally makes me cringe.  However, I’ve been determined to get in shape for a while, especially toning my legs, so what a better way than making myself train for something like this?

When we go hiking, my husband complains because I am very slow and have to stop often.  To make it worse, as some of you may recall from my earlier posts, we just moved up here from Texas a year ago and I’ve never really tried running with the altitude.  So that should be fun interesting.  On the up side, this is a GREAT chance to use my new Vibrams!

I’m going to keep updating and letting y’all know how everything is going.  Who knows, maybe I can inspire someone else to start running and get in shape too!  My amazing mother-in-law runs half- and full marathons and, while I never think I’ll get there, this is a good start to getting and staying in shape.

7 thoughts on “My Personal Challenge: Survivor Mud Run

  1. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Three | theblondelawyer

  2. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Three and a Half | theblondelawyer

  3. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Four | theblondelawyer

  4. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Four and a Half | theblondelawyer

  5. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Five | theblondelawyer

  6. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Six | theblondelawyer

  7. Pingback: Couch to Survivor Mud Run: Week Seven… sort of | theblondelawyer

Leave a Reply

