Easter Egg Wreath

Apparently I’m in quite the wreath-making mood.  (Check out my St. Patrick’s Day Wreath!)  Today I decided to make an Easter wreath.  I’ve seen all the ones around Pinterest using only Easter eggs but I know that I’m too much of a perfectionist to do that because I wouldn’t be able to get the eggs close enough to not see the wreath underneath and that would drive me crazy.  So I decided that it would (probably) be cute to make an Easter egg wreath with Easter grass underneath…. and it was.

So here’s what you need…

  • Easter eggs
  • Easter grass
  • Styrofoam wreath
  • hot glue
  • optional: lint roller for clean-up

1. Start by gluing the grass to the wreath.  This gets messy.  I just made lines with the glue and grabbed handfuls of grass and stuck it on.

It’ll end up looking kind of like this:

… kind of like your wreath has a beard…

(I craft while the hubby plays Forza in the background) 🙂

2. Once you’ve glued the grass all the way around, you’ll want to cut off the excess long strands so it doesn’t look like this:

Just give it a nice little haircut to your desired length.  I didn’t want to cut mine too short because I want the grass to show enough around the eggs, but I also wanted it to be short enough that my wreath didn’t have its hair blowing in the wind like an 80s rock star.

That’s just an idea of how short I cut mine.

3.  After cutting off all the long strands, I went through and added another layer of grass (and trimmed this layer too) because I wanted to make sure that you couldn’t see any of the wreath underneath.  This is not a necessary step since you are going to put the eggs on top of the grass anyway but it makes me feel better.

Double layered and trimmed.

4. Start gluing the eggs on.  You can really do this in any way that you please but I’m not good at doing the whole “totally random look” so I just did a 1 vertical and 2 horizontal repeating pattern.

However, I did want them to be a little messy so that the wreath looked a little more like eggs just thrown on the grass rather than really perfected.

You’re done!

I will give you one little hint with the Easter grass.  We all know how much of a mess it can make (hence why I did my wreath laying on a Columbia bag).  If you have a craft room (lucky you, I’m jealous) it’s probably not that much of an issue, but I was doing this on my living room floor, trying everything I could to keep this little booger out of it:

Anywho, a lint roller works pretty well to clean up, especially all the little pieces that got cut off the grass.  My husband doesn’t allow me near the vacuum cleaner (oh darn!) because I manage to break a belt every time I vacuum, so I figured I needed another way to clean up.  Plus, I can only imagine it would be quite a disaster to get all that grass stuck around the roller of our vacuum.

Another perk of this wreath: I got the grass on sale at Michael’s, had a coupon for the wreath and got the eggs at Target so this wreath cost me under $10 to make and I LOVE the way it turned out!

I would love to see how anyone else’s turns out if you try it!!

Oopsey Daisy
2 thoughts on “Easter Egg Wreath

  1. 726476 552058I discovered your internet site internet site on google and check a couple of your early posts. Preserve inside the top notch operate. I just extra up your Feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking for toward reading far far more of your stuff afterwards! 730351

Leave a Reply

