Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes with Pink & Purple Frosting

I have become the unofficial person who brings sweets for everyone’s birthday at work.  Luckily I have a pretty small office!  My original plan was to make these for my birthday, but I never got around to it.  However, a co-worker’s birthday is on Valentine’s Day, just over a week after my birthday so I decided to make these for her birthday/Valentine’s Day.

I had seen them floating all around Pinterest and you can find the original post here.  Conveniently, I have this awesome muffin tin from Ikea that the cones fit into perfectly and much more stably than in a regular muffin tin.

So, here’s how you do it:

1. Make (or buy) your favorite cupcake recipe (or boxed mix).  The amazing chocolate cupcake recipe that I use is at the bottom of this post.

2. Mix up the batter as directed.

3. Put batter into the ice cream cones.  I will warn you here: I filled mine WAY too full and made a giant mess.  Don’t do what I did.  I recommend filling them about a half inch down from the top of the cone.  Even if the cupcake ends up being below the top of the cone when it finishes baking, you add frosting to look like ice cream and it’s much better than having spilled cupcake all over the place.

4. Bake as directed.  Again, I have to warn you: mine took quite a bit longer than normal.  However, this is the first time I’ve made this recipe since moving up to Denver.  Going from a place that’s pretty much at sea level to one that’s a mile above, I’ve had to make some changes to my recipes.   Just watch them and make sure that you test them with a toothpick or cake tester before taking them out to make sure that they are done.

5. Let the cupcakes cool completely.

Now for the frosting:

I can’t for the life of me remember where I saw this.  I’d love to give credit for where this idea came from but I don’t have a clue.  If you know, please let me know!

1. Use your favorite frosting recipe (or cheat like I did and use the canned stuff).

2. Split the frosting into 2 bowls and mix in your colors.  Since I was taking these for Valentine’s Day, I did pink and purple.

3. Once you are ready to frost, very carefully add one color of the frosting to one side of a pastry bag then add the other color to the other side.  The thicker your frosting is, the better this will work.  Obviously you don’t want it so thick you can’t frost with it, but if it’s too thin, it will fall off the side of the bag when you are trying to add the second color.   This was a rather messy process for me, trying to make sure that the second color got all the way down to the bottom, but I just made sure that I frosted one of the cupcakes that I was keeping at home first so that if the color wasn’t quite right, it didn’t matter.  It really ended up not mattering since our dog helped himself to all the cupcakes I was saving for the hubby and I.  Needless to say, he had quite the tummy ache the next day.

4. Anywho, frost the cupcakes as you normally would, but you’ll get sort of a swirl effect.  For different ways to frost cupcakes, check out this awesome blog.

Good luck and I’d love to see how anyone else’s frosting turns out!

P.S. See how nicely the cones stand in that pan from Ikea?  And how mine aren’t super pretty since I made a mess by over-filling?  Oh well, they still tasted great!

Chocolate Cupcake Recipe

Found this recipe here.

  • 1 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a muffin pan with paper or foil liners. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa and salt. Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well with each addition, then stir in the vanilla. Add the flour mixture alternately with the milk; beat well. Fill the muffin cups 3/4 full.
  3. Bake for 15 to 17 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. Frost with your favorite frosting when cool.

This recipe was great in Houston, however, in Denver I added about 1/4 cup more flour and a little more milk.

Leave a Reply

