How do you make a cheeseburger better?!

Add bacon, beer and more bacon.

Yummy! (Sorry for the semi-blurry pic 🙂

DOUBLE BACON BEER-BRAISED CHEESEBURGERS (veggie free)

Yeah, sounds pretty awesome doesn’t it?!  Oh, they were!  And don’t worry, I’m here to share how you can enjoy the wonderfulness yourself.

By the way, I adapted this from a Rachael Ray recipe (which by the way, I’m slightly obsessed with her!).

Ingredients:

The beer I used: Tommyknocker Cocoa Porter

  • 1 lb ground beef
  • strips microwave bacon (2 to mix into the meat and 2 for each burger)
  • onion powder
  • salt
  • pepper
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • about half a bottle of a good stout beer (I used a Tommyknocker Cocoa Porter)
  • slices of colby jack cheese
  • dijon mustard
  • hamburger buns (we didn’t have any so we just used bread but some sort of Kaiser or onion roll is what Rachael Ray recommends)

My hubby likes a lot of bacon (to the point that he would eat it for every meal if he could) and I don’t so we tend to just use the microwave stuff so he can have it whenever, which made this recipe even easier.  If you want the instructions for using regular bacon, check out the Rachael Ray recipe I linked to above.

Anywho, microwave 2 strips of bacon until crispy.  Crumble up the bacon and add to the ground beef.  Season to taste with onion powder, salt, pepper and Worcestershire sauce.  The Rachael Ray recipe uses an actual onion.  The hubby can’t deal with onions but can do onion powder.  I had no real rhyme or reason to how much of everything I put in, I just kind of added stuff, mixed it all together with my hands and made sure it smelled good.  It did, so I just ran with it and they turned out GREAT!

Moving on… once the meat is all mixed together, make your patties.  Since it’s just my husband and I, I did rather large 1/2 lb burgers.  But you could do up to 4 with 1 lb of meat.  Make the patties slightly thinner in the middle and thicker on the outsides so that they cook evenly.

Drizzle a bit of olive oil in your pan and heat on medium-high heat.  Once your oil is hot, add your patties.  For a little pink in the middle cook approximately 10 minutes.  Obviously, adjust if you want them a little more cooked and depending on the size of your patties and just check them to make sure they are cooked thoroughly.

Flip half way through cooking.  About a minute after flipping, add a splash of beer.  About a minute or 30 second before the burgers are done, add your cheese slices so that they melt nicely on top of the patty.

Mmmm... beer (Yeah, mine patty got a little dark but you couldn't even taste it)

Put your mustard on your bun/bread/roll/whatever it is you are using and voila, a deliciously bacony burger that even I, a non lover of bacon, can enjoy.  They are also wonderfully juicy thanks to the beer.

Since I'm not much of a bacon eater, I didn't put the extra bacon on my burger, but it was delicious mixed into the meat!

Obviously you could top yours with lettuce, tomato, onion, whatever, but since the hubby doesn’t like veggies, I left them out of this meal.  Hope you enjoy this!

Leave a Reply

