What are the holidays without a Gingerbread Latte?!

As soon as Starbucks announces that their gingerbread lattes are back in stores, I make a bee-line for the closest one.  However, this year, we’ve been trying hard to pinch pennies so I’ve only been able to indulge once.  When I found this recipe for Crockpot Gingerbread Lattes, I knew I HAD to try it!

I am too impatient to do it in the crockpot (takes 1-2 hours!), so I tried doing it in a pot on the stove and it worked just as well and in only about half an hour!   Okay, so here’s the recipe (the actual recipe is double this but I figured two cups was more than enough for me):

Stovetop Gingerbread Latte

  • 2 cups of milk (the crockpot blog suggests using nothing heavier than 2%)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • optional: whipped cream (I highly recommend), cinnamon stick or nutmeg for garnish
  • strong coffee or espresso to add your mixture to

Whisk everything together (except for your garnish and coffee) in a pot and put on the stove for 30 minutes at medium-low, stirring occasionally.  As the crockpot blog said, make sure to not let you milk boil.  I kept my burner at about 2 1/2 but watched it to make sure it did not boil.

Once it was sufficiently hot (approximately 30 minutes) and mixed together relatively well (some of the spices will still sit on top of the milk, I just made sure to stir before pouring into my coffee), pour into a cup of your strong coffee or espresso.  I used about a half and half mixture and it is DELICIOUS!!!

Hope you enjoy this as much as I do!

UPDATE:  I saved what was left over in the refrigerator and warmed it up the next morning in the microwave (slowly, in 30 second increments at half power) and it tasted just as good!!  Maybe next time I’ll make a full batch and just save it for my morning coffee!

Leave a Reply

