Becoming a Self-Proclaimed Foodie

Foodies are amateurs who simply love food for consumption, study, preparation, and news.

Thanks for that explanation Wikipedia.  Never in a million years would I have thought that the term “foodie” would apply to me and yet, I feel it’s coming.  I don’t think I’m a full-on foodie yet, but I’m definitely taking some steps towards that designation.  At work last Friday, we had a Halloween party and were supposed to bring finger foods… perfect!  I had several people tell me that (1) they’ve liked everything I’ve brought in (which has been quite a lot over the 2.5 months I’ve worked there) and (2) that other people had told them how good everything that I bring in is.  Wow, how great to hear!

When I was growing up, my mom used to make these little spongy cheesecake cups that were AMAZING!  So I called my mom and got the recipe:

CHEESECAKE CUPS WITH SOUR CREAM FILLING

First: preheat oven to 325 degrees.

For the spongy cake:

  • 3 8 ounce packages of cream cheese
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients together with mixer until smooth. (Mine never got super-smooth; they still tasted fine but I’m thinking it would work better if the cream cheese was softened, not straight out of the refrigerator like I did.  They still tasted fine great, but just a suggestion.)

Pour into muffin pan lined with cupcake liners.  It’s okay to fill the liners more than I did, they don’t rise much.

Bake for 30 minutes if using a regular muffin pan or about 20 minutes if using a mini muffin pan.

Note to self: print recipe or make sure computer is in a safe spot so as to not drip mix onto your computer. Oops!

While that is baking, you can make the filling:

  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla

Note: make sure you actually have enough vanilla so that you don’t have to run to the store while the cups are in the oven.  Not that I would know from experience or anything…

Anywho, mix all of the ingredients of the filling together.

Once cups are done baking, pull out of the oven and let sit for a minute or two until the centers fall and make a nice little dent for you to put the filling in.  Spoon the filling into the dents and put back into the oven for 5 minutes.

Take out of the oven and voila!  Spongy cheesecake goodness with sour cream filling.  Yeah, I don’t know what these are actually called, I guess kind of like cheesecake cupcakes but they are more spongy than regular cupcakes so pick a name as you see fit.

Also, I added chocolate to some of my cupcakes (above) but I didn’t let them cool first (duh Stephanie!) and, obviously, it ended up as a giant brown blob when it melted on the warm cupcake.  And oddly enough, I like the flavor of the cheesecake cups without the chocolate better.  My mom uses cherry pie filling for a little extra flavor and color; just a suggestion.
PUMPKIN CREAM CHEESE MINI CRESCENT ROLLS

I also made Pumpkin Cream Cheese Mini Crescent Rolls.  Another Pinterest recipe that I found here.  They were VERY simple to make.  I mixed all of the ingredients while my cheesecake cups were baking.  (I managed to forget to take a picture of these, but they looked just about like the ones in the blog I linked to above.)

These were a HUGE hit (not that the cheesecake cups weren’t, but I’d eaten those before so I knew they would be)!

PINTEREST OBSESSION

Recently, thanks in large part to Pinterest, I am finding a TON of new recipes to try!

Cheeseburger Pie

The first thing I found to try was Cheeseburger Pie.  If I haven’t mentioned this before, my husband is a VERY picky eater so cooking for us is not always easy.  I love my veggies and he doesn’t.  Broccoli, corn, green beans and potatoes (regular and sweet, which oddly enough I’m not a huge fan of sweet potatoes) are about the only thing I can get him to eat and it has to be fresh, which pretty much knocks out corn because I’m way too lazy to do fresh corn on the cob, well, ever.  That’s something he does when he grills.  We mainly do broccoli if we do veggies and let’s be honest, you can really only eat so much broccoli before getting really tired of it.

Anywho, I digress.  I had to get the crescent rolls from the store, but I had everything else already, which makes this recipe even better.  It’s ingredients that everyone probably has in their kitchen already!  (Apparently I forgot to take a picture of this one, too, either that or my camera and/or phone is eating my pictures; but again, mine looked just like the picture on the recipe.)

We LOVED this recipe!  It was easy to prepare, cheap and most importantly, delicious!  It is definitely going to become something I make quite often.  I took the leftovers to work two days later and it was really good reheated, too (if you have any leftovers that is).

Breakfast Wreath

The next morning, we were heading out to go snowboarding (which is its own adventurous story I’ll share later).  We like to go to Krispy Kreme on Sunday mornings, but I found this recipe for a breakfast wreath and decided to make breakfast instead.  When I ran to the store to get the crescent rolls for the Cheeseburger Pie, I picked up another can for breakfast.  Yes, crescent rolls for 2 meals in a row, but such different things, it wasn’t weird.  Again, I had the rest of the ingredients already: bacon, eggs and cheese.  Here is the recipe for this breakfast wreath and here is how mine turned out:

(I actually remembered to take a picture of this one!  Go me 🙂 )

It was delicious and kind of pretty, too.  My husband and I both loved it!  I’m not a huge fan of bacon (and yet it’s one of my husband’s main food groups) but it wasn’t too much for me and it was enough for him.  I use the pre-cooked bacon that you just have to microwave so it was very easy to put everything together in a few minutes then put it in the oven while I woke my husband up and we got ready to go.

Sour Cream Chicken and Honey Sautéed Broccoli and Carrots

I also just started following an amazing blog: Making Life Delicious.  I just spent a few minutes hours scouring their blog and wow, I just added a TON of new recipes to my repertoire of things that Jeff will actually eat.  It all began with this: Oma’s Sour Cream Chicken.  While it was in the oven cooking, I could hear it sizzling and it smelled absolutely delicious!  The recipe calls for 2 pounds of chicken ,which is more than my husband and I could ever eat so I cut the recipe in half totally winged-it in the amounts of what I used.  I used two large chicken breasts and just added what looked good.  This is what it looked like before going into the oven:

I was trying to figure out what I wanted to as a side.  I had plenty of fresh vegetables left over from the giant bag I got last weekend at the farmers market but had no clue what to do with them.  So of course, I turned to trusty ol’ Google.  I ended up finding this gem: honey sautéed broccoli and carrots.  It took very little time to make (under 10 minutes) and was DELICIOUS!  These are two of the veggies my husband is willing to eat and when you add sweet to them, even better!

Here’s how the whole finished meal looked:


Pretty delicious (and pretty, too).  My husband was actually upset that we didn’t have much leftover.  He was looking forward to having it for lunch tomorrow, which is a pretty big deal.  We don’t really do well with leftovers.  They normally sit in our fridge for way too long until I either (a) run out of room in the fridge or (b) run our of Rubbermaid containers to put stuff in.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

I don’t know where you live, but here in Denver, it’s full-on fall and even wintry on days (like last Wednesday when we got about 6 inches of snow… and this coming Wednesday when it is supposed to snow again).  Anywho, it’s stew and soup time in our household!  For as long as I can remember my favorite soup has been broccoli cheese.  And looky there, it’s one of those veggies my hubby will eat!

This was (originally) another recipe that I found on Pinterest, here.  Well, I didn’t like her “1 1/2 cubes of butter” explanation (I mean really, what the heck is a “cube” of butter?!).  But, observant little me noticed the small print which said that she had found the picture for the recipe on allrecipes.com (one of my all-time favorite recipe websites).  I went to allrecipes and found a very similar recipe that actually had a measurement for the butter (6 tablespoons), but slightly different directions, so I combined the two:

  • 2-3 bunches chopped broccoli (cut into relatively small pieces or you can blend the soup between steps 5 and 6)
  • 6 tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 42 oz. chicken broth (3 14 oz. cans or I just bought 2 of the boxes so I would have some leftover for other recipes)
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1/2 pkg. Velveeta, cubed
  • salt, pepper and paprika to taste
  • 2 onion cubes (like bouillon or chicken cubes but onion; they are fantastic to get the oniony flavor but without the actual onion to make my husband [or any other onion-haters] happy)

The directions are where the recipes really differ.  The blog recipe cooks the broccoli in the butter, adds flour, then adds the chicken broth whereas the allrecipes recipe puts the broccoli right into the broth and uses the butter to cook a chopped onion (which I omitted for my husband), adds the flour to the onion then adds the cooked onion into the broccoli broth-bath.

I decided to go (mainly) with the blog directions which are as follows:

  1. Melt butter in saucepan and add broccoli.
  2. Heat on high for 3-5 minutes, then stir in flour.
  3. Gradually add chicken broth while stirring.
  4. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes.
  5. Stir in heavy cream.
  6. Add cubes of Velveeta and cook until melted stirring occasionally.  Be sure to not let the soup boil as the cheese will break down(so says the allrecipes.com recipe).
  7. Salt, pepper and paprika to taste.

Here’s what my finished soup looks like:

My husband suggested adding the paprika and it added a WONDERFUL flavor to it!  How much did we add, you ask?  Good question, we just kind of dumped but if I had to guess I would say maybe around a teaspoon or so.  I recommend adding a little then tasting until you get the flavor you want.

On a side note, hope everyone had a Happy “Halloweenie”!

2 thoughts on “Becoming a Self-Proclaimed Foodie

  1. Pingback: What I’ve Been Making | theblondelawyer

Leave a Reply

